Nathalie Gagné

Ever since she was a teenager, Nathalie Gagné has been fascinated by makeup and the impact it has on the actor’s craft. From the age of 12, when she first discovered this passion, her cosmetic brushes have always been close at hand. For Nathalie, makeup is a reflection of the character’s soul. After studying theater production at Saint-Hyacinthe College, she became one of the first to graduate from the Montreal branch of the renowned Parisian makeup school Christian Chauveau.

Before joining Cirque du Soleil in 1995, Nathalie has worked in the theater, film and television industry. Through her work she had the great opportunity to travel around the world, which has greatly influenced the result of her inspiration. Nominated twice for a Gémeau Award by the Academy of Canadian Cinema & Television for “Best Makeup.”

All along her career she has the honor to work with many great creators like; Franco Dragon, Robert Lepage, Andrew Adamson, Thierry Mugler, EikoIshioka, Jamie King and Michael Curry, Dominique Lemieux, to name a few. Since 1995, she has created over 3,000 makeup designs for Cirque du Soleil, with the final concepts being selected from more than 5,000 sketches. Nathalie participated as the key/makeup designer in the 3D movie of Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away produced by James Cameron and directed by Andrew Adamson in 2012.

After 21 years as Makeup Designer with Cirque du Soleil, she contributed to the success of more than 21 shows including O, Love, Zumanity, Ka, Mystere, Believe, Zaia, Iris, Corteo, La Nouba, Saltimbanco, Quidam, Delirium, Varekai, Alegria, Iris, Elvis, Joya, Michael Jackson ONE, Paramour, Helene Fischer show.

As she often says, makeup is an ephemeral art that disappears every night in the sink but can be reborn every day even more beautiful than the last time. Like a Phoenix.

Apart from her circus activities, the world-famous makeupdesigner currently works for the theater, film, and television industry, she also directs Master Classes for renowned cosmetic companies and elaborates Skin Jewelry designs for Creations Gravité.

CV

Portfolio

Skin Jewelry Design

Nathalie Gagné

Depuis qu’elle est adolescente, Nathalie Gagné a toujours été fascinée par le maquillage et par son effet sur le jeu d’acteur. Dès l’âge de 12 ans, alors qu’elle découvre sa passion, elle garde ses pinceaux toujours à portée de main. Pour Nathalie, le maquillage est le reflet de l’âme du personnage. Après avoir étudié en production au Collège Saint-Hyacinthe, elle est devenue l’une des premières diplômées montréalaises de la célèbre école de maquillage parisienne Christian Chauveau.

Nathalie a travaillé au théâtre, au cinéma et à la télévision puis, elle se joint au Cirque du Soleil en 1995. Grâce à son travail, de multiples occasions de voyager autour du monde ont grandement influencées son inspiration. Deux fois nommée « Meilleur maquillage » pour un prix Gémeau par l’Académie canadienne du cinéma et de la télévision, tout au long de sa carrière, elle a eu l’honneur de travailler avec de grands créateurs tels; Franco Dragone, Robert Lepage, Andrew Adamson, Thierry Mugler, Eiko Ishioka, Jamie King, Michael Curry, et Dominique Lemieux, pour n’en nommer que quelques-uns.

Depuis 1995, elle a créé plus de 3 000 concepts finaux de maquillage, sélectionnés parmi plus de 5 000 croquis. Nathalie a participé en tant que conceptrice maquilleuse au film 3D du Cirque du Soleil: Worlds Away, produit par James Cameron, et réalisé par Andrew Adamson en 2012. Elle a également contribué au succès de plus de 21 spectacles du Cirque du Soleil dont O, Love, Zumanity, Kà, Mystere, Believe, Zaïa, Iris, Corteo, La Nouba, Saltimbanco, Quidam, Delirium, Varekai, Alegria, Iris, Elvis, Joya, Michael Jackson ONE, Paramour, et le spectacle de Helen Fischer.

Comme elle le dit souvent, le maquillage est un art éphémère qui disparaît chaque nuit dans l’évier mais qui, à la manière du Phénix, peut renaître chaque jour encore plus beau que la veille.

En dehors du cirque, la conceptrice de maquillage de renommée mondiale continue de travailler pour l’industrie du théâtre, du cinéma et de la télévision, elle dirige des classes de maître pour des entreprises cosmétiques renommées, et elle conçoit une gamme de bijoux de peau pour sa marque, Créations Gravité.

CV

Portfolio

Bijoux équilibristes